Faculty

Faculty

Name Sort descending Contact Information Research Groups and Research Areas
Meghan Allen Associate Head of Undergraduate Affairs & Associate Professor of Teaching
meghana@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 243
604-822-4912
computer science education
Elisa Baniassad Professor of Teaching
ebani@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS ICCS 329
604-822-6366
computer science education
Patrice Belleville
Personal Page
Associate Professor of Teaching
patrice@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 343
604-822-9870
On Leave July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2024
Algorithms Lab
computer science education
Ivan Beschastnikh
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Associate Professor
bestchai@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 327
604-822-5628
SPL, Systopia, DFP
systems, software engineering
William J. Bowman
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Assistant Professor
wilbowma@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 389
SPL
programming languages
Giuseppe Carenini
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor & MDS Director
carenini@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 105
604-822-5109
On Leave January 1, 2023 – December 31, 2023
AI, CAIDA, DFP, DSI, HAI, ML, NLP
artificial intelligence, natural language processing, visualization
Paul Carter
Personal Page
Professor of Teaching
pcarter@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 391
604-822-4034
computer science education
Ian Cavers Associate Dean of Science & Associate Professor of Teaching
cavers@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 341
604-822-4327
computer science education
Jeff Clune
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Associate Professor
jeff.clune@ubc.ca
ICICS/CS X863
AI, AMLTN, CAIDA, ML
artificial intelligence, machine learning, robotics
Cristina Conati
Google Scholar
Professor of Computer Science
conati@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 107
On Leave January 1, 2023 – December 31, 2023
AI, AMLTN, CAIDA, DFP, DSI, HAI, ML
artificial intelligence, human-computer interaction
Anne Condon
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor & MDS Co-Director
condon@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS X551
604-822-8175
Algorithms Lab
bioinformatics
Jiarui Ding
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Assistant Professor
jiarui.ding@ubc.ca
ICICS/CS X541
604-822-1964
Algorithms Lab, CAIDA, DSI
bioinformatics, machine learning, visualization
William Evans
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
will@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS X841
604-822-0827
Algorithms Lab
computational geometry
Mike Feeley
Personal Page
Associate Professor
feeley@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 393
604-822-8179
Systopia
systems
Michael Friedlander
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
michael.friedlander@ubc.ca
Algorithms Lab, CAIDA, MILD, SCL
Joel Friedman
Personal Page
Professor
jf@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS X561
604-822-0674
Algorithms Lab
algorithms
Ronald Garcia
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Associate Professor
rxg@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 387
604-822-1664
SPL
programming languages
Mark Greenstreet
Personal Page
Professor
mrg@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 323
604-822-3065
ISD
formal methods
Chen Greif
Personal Page
Professor
ICICS/CS 219
604-822-2317
SCL, CAIDA
scientific computing
Arpan Gujarati
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Assistant Professor
arpanbg@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 333
(604) 822-2501
Systopia
systems
Nick Harvey
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
nickhar@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS X851
604-827-5941
Algorithms Lab, CAIDA, MILD
algorithms
Cinda Heeren Professor of Teaching
cheeren@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 233
604-822-9880
On Leave July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2024
computer science education
Reid Holmes
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
rtholmes@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 309
604-822-0409
SPL
software engineering
Alan Hu
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
ajh@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 325
604-822-6667
On Leave July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2024
ISD, CAIDA
formal methods
Norm Hutchinson
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Associate Professor
norm@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 319
604-822-8188
Systopia
systems
Gregor Kiczales
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
gregor@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 311
604-822-4806
SPL
programming languages, computer science education
Varada Kolhatkar
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Assistant Professor of Teaching
kvarada@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 237
computer science education, natural language processing
Laks V.S. Lakshmanan
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
laks@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 315
604-822-3153
On Leave September 1, 2023 – August 31, 2024
DMM, CAIDA, DSI
data management and mining
Mathias Lécuyer
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Assistant Professor
mathias.lecuyer@ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 317
CAIDA, ML, Security and Privacy Group, Systopia
machine learning, security & privacy, systems
Caroline Lemieux
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Assistant Professor
clemieux@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 331
Security and Privacy Group, SPL
programming languages, security & privacy, software engineering
Kevin Leyton-Brown
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
kevinlb@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS X565
604-827-3989
On Leave July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2024
AI, Algorithms Lab, AMLTN, CAIDA, ML
algorithmic game theory, artificial intelligence, machine learning
Karon MacLean
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
maclean@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS X641
604-822-8169
Imager, DFP, SPIN, CAIDA
human-computer interaction
Joanna McGrenere
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Co-Head, Professor
joanna@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS X665
604-827-5201
Imager, eDAPT, DFP, CAIDA
human-computer interaction
Aastha Mehta
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Assistant Professor
aasthakm@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 335
Security and Privacy Group, Systopia
networking, security & privacy, systems
Ian Mitchell
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
mitchell@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 223
604-822-2317
CAIDA, DFP, SCL
robotics, scientific computing
Karina Mochetti
Personal Page
Assistant Professor of Teaching
mochetti@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 235
computer science education
Tamara Munzner
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
tmm@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS X661
604-827-5200
CAIDA, DFP, DSI, Imager, InfoVis
human-computer interaction, visualization
Gail Murphy
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor and Vice-President Research & Innovation
murphy@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 305
604-822-5169
SPL, CAIDA
software engineering
Raymond Ng
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
rng@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 303
604-822-2394
AI, AMLTN, CAIDA, DMM, DSI, NLP
bioinformatics, data management and mining, natural language processing
Oluwakemi Ola
Personal Page
Associate Professor of Teaching
kemiola@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 227
computer science education
Dinesh Pai
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
pai@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS X853
604-822-8197
On Leave January 1, 2023 – December 31, 2023
CAIDA, Imager, SSL
graphics, machine learning, scientific computing, virtual/augmented reality
Mi Jung Park
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Assistant Professor
mijungp@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS X539
On Leave August 1, 2023 - May 31, 2024
MILD, ML
Thomas Pasquier
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Assistant Professor
tfjmp@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 301
Security and Privacy Group, Systopia
security & privacy, systems
David Poole
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
poole@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 109
604 822-6254
AI, AMLTN, CAIDA, ML
artificial intelligence
Rachel Pottinger
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
rap@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 345
604-822-0436
CAIDA, DFP, DMM
data management and mining
Helge Rhodin
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Assistant Professor
rhodin@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS X653
604-827-6849
AMLTN, CAIDA, CVL, DFP, Imager, ML
graphics, machine learning, virtual/augmented reality, vision
Andrew Roth
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Assistant Professor
aroth@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 339
604-822-0826
CAIDA
bioinformatics, machine learning
Mark Schmidt
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Associate Professor
schmidtm@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 193
604-822-6421 (Rarely answered; email preferred)
AI, Algorithms Lab, CAIDA, DSI, MILD, ML
machine learning
Margo Seltzer
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Co-Head, Professor
mseltzer@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 313
604-822-6642
SPL, CAIDA, Systopia
systems
Alla Sheffer
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Associate Head of Faculty Affairs & Professor
sheffa@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS X651
604-822-4030
Imager, CAIDA
graphics, virtual/augmented reality
Bruce Shepherd
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
fbrucesh@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS X839
604-822-4777
Algorithms Lab, CAIDA
algorithms
Vered Shwartz
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Assistant Professor
vshwartz@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 111
CAIDA, ML, NLP
artificial intelligence, machine learning, natural language processing
Leonid Sigal
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
lsigal@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 119
604-822-4368
On Leave September 1, 2023 – August 31, 2024
AI, AMLTN, CAIDA, CVL, DSI, ML
machine learning, vision
Alex Summers
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Associate Head of Grad Affairs & Associate Professor
alex.summers@ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 307
SPL, Systopia
programming languages, software engineering
DS
Danica Sutherland
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Assistant Professor
dsuth@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS X563
AI, AMLTN, CAIDA, MILD, ML
artificial intelligence, machine learning
Giulia Toti
Personal Page
Assistant Professor of Teaching
gtoti@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 231
Michiel van de Panne
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
van@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS X865
604-822-8737
AI, AMLTN, CAIDA, Imager, ML
artificial intelligence, graphics, machine learning, robotics
Alan Wagner
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Associate Professor
wagner@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 321
604-822-6450
Systopia
systems
DW
Daochen Wang Assistant Professor
wdaochen@cs.ubc.ca
Steve Wolfman
Personal Page
Associate Head of Operations & Professor of Teaching
wolf@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 239
604-822-0407
computer science education
Frank Wood
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Associate Professor
fwood@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS X861
604-827-3994
AI, AMLTN, CAIDA, ML, PLAI
artificial intelligence, machine learning, programming languages
Robert Xiao
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Assistant Professor
brx@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS X639
604-822-4326
DFP, Imager, Security and Privacy Group
human-computer interaction, virtual/augmented reality
Kwang Moo Yi
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Assistant Professor
kmyi@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 115
604-827-4202
AI, AMLTN, CAIDA, CVL, ML
graphics, machine learning, virtual/augmented reality, vision
Dongwook Yoon
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Associate Professor
yoon@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS X663
604-822-1993
On Leave September 1, 2023 – August 31, 2024
Imager, DFP, CAIDA
human-computer interaction, virtual/augmented reality

Faculty Emeriti

Name Sort descending Contact Information Research Groups and Research Areas
Donald Acton Professor Emeritus
acton@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 231
604-822-1920
computer science education
Uri Ascher
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor Emeritus
ascher@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS X451
604-822-4907
SCL, CAIDA
Kellogg Booth
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor Emeritus
ksbooth@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS X461
(none)
Imager, DFP
human-computer interaction
David Kirkpatrick
Google Scholar
Professor Emeritus
kirk@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS X461
(none)
Algorithms Lab
computational geometry
Ed Knorr
Personal Page
Associate Professor Emeritus
knorr@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 229
604-822-4336
CAIDA, DMM
computer science education
Jim Little
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor Emeritus
little@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 117
604-822-4830
AI, CAIDA, CVL
vision
David Lowe
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor Emeritus
lowe@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS
vision
Alan Mackworth
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor Emeritus
mack@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS X463
604-822-4893
AI, CAIDA
artificial intelligence
Ronald Rensink
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Associate Professor Emeritus
rensink@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS X863
604-822-0598
Imager, VisCog, DFP
visualization
GT
George Tsiknis Professor Emeritus
tsiknis@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 307
604-822-2930
computer science education
JV
Jim Varah
Personal Page
Professor Emeritus
varah@cs.ubc.ca
Son Vuong
Google Scholar
Associate Professor Emeritus
vuong@cs.ubc.ca
Bob Woodham
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor Emeritus
woodham@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS
vision

Lecturer

Name Sort descending Contact Information Research Groups and Research Areas
SB
Susanne Bradley Lecturer
smbrad@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS
GG
Gittu George Lecturer
Jordon Johnson Lecturer
jordon@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS
VL
Vsevolod (Seva) Lynov Lecturer
v.lynov@ubc.ca
Firas Moosvi
Personal Page
Lecturer
firas.moosvi@ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 253
computer science education, scientific computing, software engineering, visualization
Mehrdad Oveisi
Google Scholar
Lecturer
moveisi@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 241
artificial intelligence, bioinformatics, computer science education, machine learning
GT
Geoffrey Tien Lecturer
gctien@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 245
604-822-4778
JW
Jessica Wong
Personal Page
Lecturer
jhmwong@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 247

Sessional Lecturer

Name Sort descending Contact Information Research Groups and Research Areas
Rik Blok Sessional Lecturer
rik.blok@ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 249
604-736-6343
NB
Nicholas Bradley Sessional Lecturer
ncbrad@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 255
LC
Laura Cang Sessional Lecturer
cang@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 249
JC
Jianhao Cao Sessional Lecturer
jhcao@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 249
FG
Felix Grund Sessional Lecturer
fgrund@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 255
SH
Seyyed Hosseini Sessional Lecturer
seyyed.hosseini@ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 249
Jerry Jim Sessional Lecturer
jerryjim@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 255
KK
Katharine Kerr Sessional Lecturer
kekerr@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 255
CK
Chris Kerslake Sessional Lecturer
ckerslak@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 249
Maryam Raiyat Aliabadi
Personal Page
Postdoctoral Teaching and Research Fellow
mraiyata@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS X465
SS
Sang-Wha Sien Sessional Lecturer
swsien@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 255
HZ
Hedayat Zarkoob Sessional Lecturer
hzarkoob@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS 255

Adjunct & Affiliate Professor

Name Sort descending Contact Information Research Groups and Research Areas
Robert Bridson
Personal Page
Adjunct Professor
rbridson@cs.ubc.ca
MB
Matthew Brown Adjunct Professor
matthew.alun.brown@gmail.com
SF
Sébastien Fabbro Adjunct Professor
sebfabbro@gmail.com
Charlotte Froese Fischer
Personal Page
Affiliate Professor
cff@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS
Hu Fu
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Affiliate Professor Algorithms Lab, CAIDA
algorithmic game theory
SG
Simon Goring Adjunct Professor - MDS
goring@wisc.edu
Wolfgang Heidrich
Personal Page
Affiliate Professor & Dolby Research Chair
heidrich@cs.ubc.ca
Holger H. Hoos
Personal Page
Affiliate Professor
hoos@cs.ubc.ca
IL
Issam Hadj Laradji Adjunct Professor
issam.laradji@gmail.com
ICICS/CS
Andreas Lehrmann Adjunct Professor
lehrmann@cs.ubc.ca
DL
Derek Liu Adjunct Professor
hliu120@mail.ubc.ca
KM
Kevin Murphy Adjunct Professor
kpmurphy@google.com
Gabriel Murray Adjunct Professor
gabrielm@cs.ubc.ca
Jonatan Schroeder
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Affiliate Professor
jonatan@cs.ubc.ca
computer science education, systems, networking
Adam Ścibior Adjunct Professor
adscib@gmail.com
BS
Ben Shneiderman Adjunct Professor
bshneide@umd.edu
Tv
Tibor van Rooij Adjunct Professor
Tibor.vanRooij@bcchr.ca
Andrew Warfield
Personal Page
Adjunct Professor
andy@cs.ubc.ca
ICICS/CS X465
604-822-6642

Associate Member

Name Sort descending Contact Information Research Groups and Research Areas
Muhammad Abdul-Mageed Associate Member - iSchool
muhammad.mageed@ubc.ca
Trevor Campbell Associate Member - Statistics
trevor@stat.ubc.ca
KD
Khanh Dao Duc Associate Member - Mathematics
kdd@cs.ubc.ca
JG
Jörg Gsponer Associate Member - Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
gsponer@msl.ubc.ca
RK
Roman Krems Associate Member - Chemistry
rkrems@chem.ubc.ca
Xiaoxiao Li
Personal Page
Associate Member - Electrical & Computer Engineering
xiaoxiao.li@ece.ubc.ca
RL
Renjie Liao Associate Member - Electrical & Computer Engineering
rjliao@ece.ubc.ca
AM
Ali Mesbah Associate Member - Electrical & Computer Engineering
amesbah@ece.ubc.ca
Joseph Paat Associate Member - Sauder School of Business
joseph.paat@sauder.ubc.ca
GP
Geoffrey Pleiss Associate Member - Statistics
geoffrey.pleiss@ubc.ca
Julia Rubin Associate Member - Electrical & Computer Engineering
mjulia@ece.ubc.ca
Fred Kaiser 4053