scholarship award

Awards and Deadlines

All awards listed are for current UBC CS graduate students. The Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies posts deadlines for these awards and has a complete list of awards available.


IBM Scholarship

Exceptional Doctoral students

Microsoft Scholarship

Outstanding Doctoral students


Students pursuing master's degree in health sciences


Graduate students in natural sciences or engineering

Vanier Scholarship

The Vanier Scholarships Program aims to attract and retain world-class doctoral students by supporting students who demonstrate a high standard of scholarly achievement in graduate studies and leadership skills. Both Canadian and international students are eligible to apply for Vanier Scholarships.

Affiliated Fellowships

The Faculty of Graduate Studies offers Affiliated Fellowships each year to meritorious students for full-time study and/or research leading to a graduate degree. Awards are made on the basis of academic excellence, and are open to currently registered, full-time UBC graduate students regardless of citizenship or visa status. The award is open to both Master's and Ph.D. students.


SWAAC Graduate Student Awards of Merit

The Senior Women Academic Administrators of Canada (SWAAC) are pleased to offer Graduate Student Awards of Merit to women graduate students who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in the university or general community while maintaining exemplary academic records. Each university in the Western provinces may nominate one candidate to this year’s competition.




Google PhD Fellowship
Google fellowship logo

Google US/Canada PhD Fellowship Program. Nurturing and maintaining strong relations with the academic community is a top priority at Google. The Google U.S./Canada PhD Student Fellowship Program was created to recognize outstanding graduate students doing exceptional work in computer science, related disciplines, or promising research areas. In 2012, they awarded 14 unique fellowships to some amazing students in the US and Canada.

CAGS/ProQuest-UMI Distinguished Dissertation Award

The CAGS/ProQuest-UMI Distinguished Dissertation Awards recognize Canadian doctoral dissertations that make unusually significant and original contributions to their academic field. The awards are granted by the Canadian Association for Graduate Studies (CAGS) and are sponsored by ProQuest-UMI (University Microfilms International).

First Nations Fellowship

The University of British Columbia offers several fellowships and scholarships to Canadian Aboriginal graduate students. An Aboriginal person is defined as being a First Nations, Métis or Inuit person of Canada. Award winners are selected on the basis of academic merit through an annual competition. The Faculty of Graduate Studies administers the awards in consultation with the First Nations House of Learning. The competition is open to North American Indian (First Nations), Métis and Inuit graduate students. Applicants may or may not be UBC graduate students at the time of application – the competition is open to both incoming and continuing graduate students. However, awardees must be enrolled as full-time graduate students at UBC for the academic year.


Mackenzie King Memorial Scholarship

Graduates of Canadian universities.

Walter Sumner Memorial Fellowship

Doctoral students in chemistry, physics, or electronics.

Governor General's Gold Medal

A gold medal is awarded to the graduate student who has achieved the most outstanding academic record in the graduating class for the Doctoral degree. A second gold medal is awarded to the graduate student who has achieved most outstanding academic record in the graduating class for the master’s degree with thesis.


WAGS Distinguished Master's Thesis Award

Nominations for the WAGS/UMI Distinguished Master's Thesis Award will be accepted from any graduate program or department that offers a master's degree. The scholarly “product” eligible for this competition is a formal written thesis. If a nominating department offers both a thesis option and a project option, only the thesis is acceptable for consideration for this award.

WAGS Innovation in Technology Award

This award may be given either to a master's thesis or to a doctoral dissertation for the development of an innovative technology and its utilization for the creative solution of a major problem.

Throughout the year


NSERC Industrial Postgraduate Scholarships (IPS) provide financial support for highly qualified science and engineering graduates. The support allows them to gain research experience in industry while undertaking advanced studies.

These scholarships are aimed at encouraging scholars to consider research careers in industry where they will be able to contribute to strengthening Canadian innovation.

UBC Four-Year Doctoral Fellowship (4YF)

This Four Year Doctoral Fellowship (4YF) program will ensure UBC's best PhD, DMA, and MDPhD students are provided with financial support of at least $18,200 per year plus tuition for up to four years of their doctoral studies.