Year Award Recipient(s) Organization
Outstanding Paper of 2020 Jeff Clune International Society of Artificial Life
Best Paper Award Arpan Gujarati IEEE QRS 2021
Prominent Paper Award Holger H. Hoos, Kevin Leyton-Brown AIJ Prominent Paper Award
Impact Recognition Award Ashish Chopra, Dongwook Yoon, Ivan Beschastnikh, Morgan Mo, Samuel Dodson Computer-supported Cooperative Work and Social Computing (CSCW)
ACM SIGMOD Research Highlight Award Laks V.S. Lakshmanan SIGMOD
Fellow of Royal Society of Canada Raymond Ng Royal Society of Canada
AITO Test of Time Award Gregor Kiczales AITO
Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS) Blair Spearman Doctoral Prize Chris Liaw Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS)
Rick Sample Memorial Award in Computer Science David Ewart, Rebecca Lin, Roark Zhang UBC Computer Science
2021 Best Dissertation Award Arpan Gujarati ACM SIGBED
2021 CHCCS/SCDHM Achievement Award Tamara Munzner Graphics Interface (CHCCS/SCDHM)
SIGMOD Research Highlight Award Laks V.S. Lakshmanan ACM SIGMOD
Distinguished Scholar Award Kevin Leyton-Brown UBC
Amazon Research Award Kevin Leyton-Brown Amazon Research
Elected Member of American Academy of Arts and Sciences Margo Seltzer AAAS
Distinguished Paper Award Braxton Hall, Felix Grund, Nick C. Bradley, Reid Holmes, Shaiful Chowdhury International Conference on Software Engineering
Best Paper Award for AISTATS 2021 Frederik Kunstner, Mark Schmidt AISTATS
Killam Research Fellowship Mark Schmidt UBC
Killam Accelerator Research Fellowships Leonid Sigal UBC
CS-Can/Info-Can 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award Kellogg Booth CS-Can/Info-Can
ACM Fellow Kevin Leyton-Brown Association of Computing Machinery