UBC ACM Programming Team Coach Nasa Rouf Receives ACM ICPC Coach Award

UBC Computer Science PhD candidate Nasa Rouf is the recipient of the ACM ICPC 5-Year-Coach Award for his dedication to coaching hundreds of UBC students to participate in the ACM Programming contest.  Nasa has been coaching the UBC ACM programming teams since 2008 and brought UBC to the World Finals five times.  He led the UBC programming teams, first as assistant coach, to the World Finals in 2008 in Banff, and then as head coach to the World Finals in 2012 in Poland, in 2013 in Russia, and in 2016 in Thailand.  He will be leading the UBC team this year as co-coach to the finals in South Dakota.  According to Computer Science faculty advisor Professor Will Evans, 'Nasa has fostered a real sense of community among the programming team members, even as the membership has grown rapidly over the last few years'.

The UBC performance is listed chronologically here https://sites.google.com/site/ubcprogrammingteam/history. The programming competitions practices group is very active throughout the year.  Please follow the link above to their webpage for further information.

More information on FacebookTwitter.

Congratulations, Nasa!

Site Categories Student Life

Department News

June 4, 2018
Computer Science Professor Joanna McGrenere has been awarded an Inria & Université Paris Sud...
May 8, 2018
UBC Computer Science Professor Kevin Leyton-Brown, together with Ph.D students Neil Newman and...
May 4, 2018
The UBC ACM Programming Team competed in the World Finals of the ACM International Collegiate...
May 3, 2018
UBC Computer Science graduate students Francesco Vitale and Izabelle Janzen and UBC Computer...

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia


ICICS/CS Building 201-2366 Main Mall
Vancouver, B.C. V6T 1Z4 Canada
Tel: 604-822-3061 | Fax: 604-822-5485
General: help@cs.ubc.ca
Undergrad program: undergrad-info@cs.ubc.ca
Graduate program: grad-info@cs.ubc.ca

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia