CPSC 547: Information Visualization, Sep 2019

Remember to reload the page, changes are frequent

Instructor: Tamara Munzner
First Class: Tue Sep 12 2019
Last Class: Tue Dec 5 2019
Time/Location: Tue 2-5, FSC 2330A
Office Hours: Tue 5-6 after class or by appointment, in X661 ICICS/CS Bldg (X Wing).
UBC Cal Page: CPSC 547
Canvas Page: 547 Canvas Page

This page: Jump to Current Day | Short Syllabus | Detailed Syllabus | Previous Versions
Other pages: Projects | Presentations | Project Description | Structure | Resources

Short Weekly Syllabus

  Week  

  Date  

  Class  

  1     Sep 10 Intro; Ex: Time Series  
  2     Sep 17 WhyVis, Data, Tasks, DSM, Ex: Abstractions
  3     Sep 24 Validation, Marks & Channels, Rules of Thumb, ArteryViz Ex: Decoding
  4     Oct 1 Tables, Color, D3 Ex: 2N/BR/CP
  5     Oct 8 Spatial, Networks, Abyss-Explorer, Geneaology, Pitches
  6     Oct 15 Manipulate, Facet, Paramorama, Guest: TBD.
  7     Oct 22 No Class Fri Oct 25: Present Topics & Groups Finalized
  8     Oct 29 Reduce, Embed, TopoFisheye, Guest: TBD. Fri Nov 1 5pm: Meetings Cutoff
  9     Nov 5 Present 1, Case Studies & Advanced Topics Mon Nov 3: Proposals Due
  10     Nov 12 Present 2, Ex: Ballotmaps
  11     Nov 19 Present 3, Peer Project Reviews 1
  12     Nov 26 Present 4, Paper Writing and Research Process
  13     Dec 4 Present 5, Peer Project Reviews 2
  14     Dec 10 Final Presentations; Dec 13 Final Papers due


Detailed Syllabus

Syllabus tentative, final changes will be made by previous class (for readings). Readings should be done before the lecture.

Required Reading:

Visualization Analysis and Design, Tamara Munzner (A K Peters Visualization Series, CRC Press, 2014) is the course textbook.

The UBC library has multiple ebook licenses so you can read it for free: library catalog page, EZProxy direct link.

To buy your own copy online, it's currently US$63 new from amazon.com and on sale for US$67 from CRC (I'll give out promo code for 20% off list price of $84 in lecture, so it's $64); CD$98 from amazon.ca and CD$100 from chapters.ca. When you buy the hardcover book, you'll get the ebook version for free; you can also buy an ebook-only for less.

All additional readings are research papers available online for free, links posted below.

For digital library access from off-campus, use EZproxy with your CWL login through the UBC library.
EZproxy direct links: IEEE DL, Springer DL, ACM DL, JSTOR


Introduction Tue Sep 10

Required Reading

Slides: pdf, pdf 16up, keynote

In-Class Exercise: Time Series

Further Reading


Data, Tasks, DSM Tue Sep 17

Required Reading

In-Class Exercise: Abstractions

Further Reading


Validation, Marks & Channels, Rules of Thumb, Artery Viz Tue Sep 24

Required Reading

In-Class Exercise: Decoding

Further Reading


Tables, Color, D3 Tue Oct 1

Required Reading

Slides: pdf, pdf 16up, keynote

In-Class Exercise: 2Nums, Bars/Radar, Color

Further Reading


Spatial Data, Networks, Abyss-Explorer, Geneaology Tue Oct 8

Required Reading

In-Class: Project Pitches

Further Reading


Manipulate, Facet, Paramorama Tue Oct 15

Required Reading

Guest Lecture: TBD

Further Readings


Reduce, Embed, Case Studies, TopoFisheye Views Tue Oct 29

Required Reading

Example Presentation

Further Readings


Presentations 1 Tue Nov 5


Presentations 2 Tue Nov 12

In-Class Exercise: Vis Design / Ballotmaps


Presentations 3 Tue Nov 19
Peer Project Reviews 1


Presentations 4 Tue Nov 26 Paper Writing and Research Process


Presentations 5 Tue Dec 3
Peer Project Reviews 2
Final Project Presentations Tue Dec 10, time TBD


Final Papers Due Fri Dec 13 11:59pm


Previous Versions


Permanent URL of this page is http://www.cs.ubc.ca/~tmm/courses/547-19
Tamara Munzner
Last modified: Tue Sep 10 06:38:20 2019