CPSC 547: Information Visualization, Fall 2015-2016

Remember to reload the page, changes are frequent

Instructor: Tamara Munzner
First Class: Thu Sep 10
Time/Location: Tue/Thu 2:00-3:30, DMP 101
Office Hours: Tue 3:30-4:30 or by appointment. X661 ICICS/CS Bldg (X Wing)
UBC Cal Page: main, waitlist, both

This page: Jump to Current Day | Short Syllabus | Detailed Syllabus | Previous Versions
Other pages: Projects | Presentations | Project Description | Structure | Resources

Short Weekly Syllabus

  Week  

  Date  

  Class  

  Date  

  Class  

  1         9/10 Overview  
2   9/15 Marks and Channels; Kosara     9/17 Data  
3   9/22 Tasks     9/24 Rules of Thumb  
4   9/29 Validation; Brehmer     10/1 Tables  
5   10/6 Spatial Data     10/8 Networks  
6   10/13 Color   10/15 Manipulate  
7   10/20 Facet     10/22 [Pitches]  
8   10/27 No Class   10/29 No Class Mon 11/2 Present Choices Due  
9   11/3 Reduce     11/5 Embed   Thu 11/5 Meeting Cutoff
10   11/10 Case Studies     11/12 Presentations 1   Mon 11/9 Proposals Due  
11   11/17 Presentations 2     11/19 Presentations 3   Mon 11/23 Status Updates Due  
12   11/24 Presentations 4     11/26 Presentations 5  
13   12/1 Presentations 6     12/3 Presentations 7  
14
15 12/15 Final Presentations     Fri 12/18 Final Papers Due  


Detailed Syllabus

Syllabus tentative, final changes will be made by a week before the class. Readings should be done before the lecture.

Required Reading:

Visualization Analysis and Design, Tamara Munzner (A K Peters Visualization Series, CRC Press, 2014) is the course textbook.

The UBC library has multiple ebook licenses: library catalog page, EZProxy direct link.

To buy your own copy online, it's currently US$75 new from amazon.com and US$80 from CRC (I'll give out promo code for 20% off in lecture, so it's $64); CD$105 from amazon.ca and CD$107 from chapters.ca. When you buy the hardcover book, you'll get the ebook version for free; you can also buy an ebook-only for less.

All additional readings are research papers available online, links posted below.

For digital library access from off-campus, use EZproxy with your CWL login through the UBC library.
EZproxy direct links: IEEE DL, Springer DL, ACM DL, JSTOR


Introduction Thu Sep 10

Required Reading None

Slides: pdf, pdf 16up, keynote

Further Reading


Marks and Channels; Kosara Guest Lecture: Tableau Tue Sep 15

Required Reading

Slides: pdf, pdf 16up, keynote

Further Reading


Data Thu Sep 17

Required Reading

Slides: pdf, pdf 16up, keynote

In Class

Further Reading


Tasks Tue Sep 22

Required Reading

Slides: pdf, pdf 16up, keynote

Further Reading


Rules of Thumb Thu Sep 24

Required Reading

Slides: pdf, pdf 16up, keynote, HemoViz PDF

Further Reading


Validation; Brehmer Guest Lecture: Tools Tue Sep 29

Required Reading

Slides: pdf, pdf 16up, keynote

Further Reading


Tables Thu Oct 1; Class cancelled, Tamara is sick

Required Reading


Spatial Data Tue Oct 6

Required Reading

Slides: pdf, pdf 16up, keynote


Networks Thu Oct 8

Required Reading

Slides: pdf, pdf 16up, keynote

Pointers from discussion


Color Tue Oct 13

Required Reading

Slides: pdf, pdf 16up, keynote

Demos:

Pointers from discussion

Further Readings


Manipulate Thu Oct 15

Required Reading

Slides: pdf, pdf 16up, keynote

Demos/Videos:

Further Readings


Facet Tue Oct 20

Required Reading

Slides: pdf, pdf 16up, keynote

Demos/Videos: Biomech video

Pointers from discussion

Further Reading


Pitches Thu Oct 22

Required Reading None

Slides: pdf, pdf 16up


No class Tue Oct 27, Thu Oct 29

Consider joining the LAVA Hackathon Oct 24/25


Presentation Choices Due Mon Nov 2
Reduce Tue Nov 3

Required Reading

Slides: pdf, pdf 16up, key


Embed Thu Nov 5

Required Reading

Slides: pdf, pdf 16up, key


Case Studies Tue Nov 10

Required Reading

Slides: pdf, pdf 16up, key
Algebraic Design talk slides (PDF)

Further Reading


Presentations 1 Thu Nov 12
Presentations 2 Tue Nov 17
Presentations 3 Thu Nov 19
Updates Due Mon Nov 23
Presentations 4 Tue Nov 24
Presentations 5 Thu Nov 26
Presentations 6 Tue Dec 1
Presentations 7 Thu Dec 3
Final Project Presentations Tue Dec 15 2-5:30pm.


Final Papers Due Fri Dec 18 5pm


Previous Versions


Permanent URL of this page is http://www.cs.ubc.ca/~tmm/courses/547-15
Tamara Munzner
Last modified: Fri Nov 25 13:13:28 PST 2016