Steering Committee

The steering committee chairs provide long-term continuity for actively steering SCA over multiple years.

SCA Steering Committee Chairs (Nov 2021 -- present)
  • Christopher Batty, University of Waterloo, Canada
  • Tamar Shinar, University of California, Riverside, USA
SCA Steering Committee Chairs (Sept 2018 -- 2021)
  • Florence Bertails-Descoubes, INRIA Grenoble Rhone-Alpes, France
  • Nils Thuerey, TU Munich, Germany
The steering committe consists of the steering committee chairs, and the conference and program co-chairs of the most recent 4 years, including chairs of upcoming versions of SCA that are still being planned.

SCA Guiding Principles

The Symposium on Computer Animation was established in 2002 to provide a forum where researchers and practioners in computer animation could interact on a smaller and more intimate scale than a conference such as SIGGRAPH and Eurographics.

Guiding principles:

  • SCA will have a regular rotation of conference chairs and program chairs. It is expected that no one will need to serve twice as conference or program committee chair, thereby ensuring that the symposium is owned by the international computer animation research community.

  • In general, we expect that a junior and senior person will serve as co-chairs for the conference and a similar team will serve as co-chairs for the program. This guideline allows junior members of the community to gain exposure by participating in the conference organization.

  • Reviewing will be performed internally by a large (50 person) committee of animation researchers and practitioners.

  • SCA will alternate between North America, Europe, and possibly Asia. This meets the needs of the sponsoring organizations and allows travel costs to be uniformly shared.

  • SCA will have a steering committee representing the international community of researchers in animation. There will be a regular rotation of its steering committee. See below for its composition.

  • The steering committee is responsible for selection of conference chairs and program chairs, as well as making decisions related to the publication format and timing.