# MAJOR CONFERENCES CHAIRED



Cristina Conati Program Chair **ACM IUI 2020** 



Ron Garcia Program Chair ICFP 2021



Kevin Leyton-Brown Program Chair AAAI 2021



Karon MacLean General Chair **UIST 2020** 



Joanna McGrenere Technical Program Chair ACM CHI 2020



Rachel Pottinger General Chair **SIGMOD 2020** 



Margo Seltzer Program Chair **EuroSys 2020** 

### PEOPLE POWER: RECENT ACCOLADES

Uri Ascher: Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada

Kevin Leyton-Brown: AAAI Fellow; INFORMS Franz Edelman Achievement Award

Tamara Munzner: IEEE VIS Academy

Gail Murphy: ACM Fellow; IEEE CS Harlan D. Mills Award

Mark Schmidt: SIAM Lagrange Prize in Continuous Optimization

Margo Seltzer: USENIX Lifetime Achievement Award; US National Academy of Engineering

Alla Sheffer: Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada; SIGGRAPH Academy

Recent best paper and honorable mention awards from: CHI, DSAA, GECCO, ICML, ICSE, IJCAI, MIG, and NeurIPS

Recent Test of Time awards from: IEEE VIS and ACM SIGMOD

### **FRESH TALENT**

We're hiring the best and brightest. Our most recent faculty additions are:

#### MACHINE LEARNING & VISION

Jeff Clune, Associate Professor Mijung Park, Assistant Professor Dougal Sutherland, Assistant Professor Kwang Moo Yi, Assistant Professor

#### SYSTEMS & SOFTWARE ENGINEERING

Mathias Lecuyer, Assistant Professor Aastha Mehta, Assistant Professor Thomas Pasquier, Assistant Professor Alex Summers, Associate Professor

### **EDUCATIONAL LEADERSHIP**

Varada Kolhatkar, Assistant Professor of Teaching Karina Mochetti, Assistant Professor of Teaching

## STRENGTH IN NUMBERS

Consistently ranked **TOP 50** in the world

Over **2,300** undergraduate students

Over 200 graduate students

63 faculty, including 10 new hires

Over **\$7M** received in research grants in 2019

**32%** of undergraduate students identify as female