Faculty

Faculty

Name Sort ascending Contact Information Research Groups and Research Interests
Dongwook Yoon
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Assistant Professor
yoon@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS X663
604-822-1993
Imager, DFP, CAIDA
human-computer interaction, virtual/augmented reality
Robert Xiao
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Assistant Professor
brx@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS X639
604-822-4326
Imager, DFP
Frank Wood
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Associate Professor
fwood@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS X861
604-827-3994
AI, CAIDA
artificial intelligence, machine learning, programming languages
Steve Wolfman
Personal Page
Professor of Teaching
wolf@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 239
604-822-0407
AI
computer science education
Alan Wagner
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Associate Professor
wagner@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 321
604-822-6450
NSS
systems
Michiel van de Panne
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
van@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS X865
604-822-8737
Imager, AI, CAIDA
graphics, machine learning
LS
Leonid Sigal
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Associate Professor
lsigal@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 119
604-822-4368
AI, CAIDA
vision, machine learning
BS
Bruce Shepherd
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
fbrucesh@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS X839
604-822-4777
Alg, CAIDA
algorithms
Alla Sheffer
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
sheffa@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS X651
604-822-4030
Imager, CAIDA
graphics, virtual/augmented reality
MS
Margo Seltzer
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
mseltzer@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 313
604-822-6642
SPL, CAIDA, NSS
systems
Mark Schmidt
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Associate Professor
schmidtm@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 193
604-822-6421 (I usually don't answer and don't check messages)
AI, CAIDA
machine learning
AR
Andrew Roth
Google Scholar
Assistant Professor
aroth@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 339
604-822-0826
CAIDA
bioinformatics, machine learning
HR
Helge Rhodin
Personal Page
Assistant Professor
rhodin@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS X653
Imager, CAIDA
graphics, vision, virtual/augmented reality
Ronald Rensink
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Associate Professor / Associate Professor, Psychology
rensink@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS X863
604-822-0598
Imager, AI, VisCog, DFP
visualization
Rachel Pottinger
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Associate Professor & Associate Head of Undergraduate Program
rap@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 345
604-822-0436
DMM, CAIDA
data management and mining
David Poole
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
poole@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 109
604 822-6254
AI, CAIDA
artificial intelligence
Dinesh Pai
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
pai@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS X853
604-822-8197
SSL, Imager, AI, CAIDA
graphics
OO
Oluwakemi Ola Instructor
kemiola@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 227
604-822-0694
computer science education
Raymond Ng
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
rng@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 303
604-822-2394
DMM, AI, CAIDA
natural language processing, bioinformatics, data management and mining
Gail Murphy
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor and Vice-President Research & Innovation
murphy@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 305
604-822-5169
SPL, CAIDA
software engineering
TM
Tamara Munzner
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
tmm@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS X661
604-827-5200
Imager, InfoVis, DFP, CAIDA
visualization, human-computer interaction
KM
Karina Mochetti Instructor
mochetti@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 235
computer science education
Ian Mitchell
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
mitchell@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 223
604-822-2317
SCL, AI, CAIDA, DFP
scientific computing, robotics
Joanna McGrenere
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
joanna@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS X665
604-827-5201
Imager, DFP, CAIDA
human-computer interaction
Karon MacLean
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
maclean@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS X641
604-822-8169
Imager, DFP, SPIN, CAIDA, AI
human-computer interaction
Jim Little
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor & Associate Head of Faculty Affairs
little@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 117
604-822-4830
AI, CAIDA
vision
Kevin Leyton-Brown
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
kevinlb@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS X565
604-827-3989
AI, Alg, CAIDA
algorithmic game theory, artificial intelligence, machine learning
Laks V.S. Lakshmanan
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
laks@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 315
604-822-3153
DMM, CAIDA
data management and mining
Ed Knorr
Personal Page
Senior Instructor
knorr@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 229
604-822-4336
computer science education
Gregor Kiczales
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
gregor@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 311
604-822-4806
SPL
programming languages
NH
Norm Hutchinson
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Associate Professor
norm@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 319
604-822-8188
NSS
systems
AH
Alan Hu
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
ajh@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 325
604-822-6667
ISD, CAIDA
formal methods
Reid Holmes
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Associate Professor
rtholmes@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 309
604-822-0409
SPL
software engineering
CH
Cinda Heeren Senior Instructor
cheeren@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 233
604-822-9880
computer science education
Nick Harvey
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Associate Professor
nickhar@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS X851
604-827-5941
Alg, CAIDA
algorithms
CG
Chen Greif
Personal Page
Professor and Department Head
greif@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 219
604-827-5185
SCL, CAIDA
scientific computing
Mark Greenstreet
Personal Page
Professor
mrg@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 323
604-822-3065
ISD
formal methods
MG
Michael Gelbart
Personal Page
Instructor
mgelbart@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 225
CAIDA
Ronald Garcia
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Associate Professor
rxg@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 387
604-822-1664
SPL
programming languages
HF
Hu Fu
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Assistant Professor
hufu@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS X539
604-827-4222
Alg, CAIDA
algorithmic game theory
Joel Friedman
Personal Page
Professor
jf@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS X561
604-822-0674
Alg
algorithms
MF
Michael Friedlander
Personal Page
Google Scholar
IBM Professor
mpf@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 221
604-822-5307
Alg, SCL, CAIDA
scientific computing
Mike Feeley
Personal Page
Associate Professor
feeley@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 393
604-822-8179
NSS
systems
William Evans
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Associate Professor
will@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS X841
604-822-0827
Alg
computational geometry
Anne Condon
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor & MDS Co-Director
condon@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS X551
604-822-8175
Alg
bioinformatics
Cristina Conati
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor & Associate Head of Graduate Affairs
conati@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 107
604-822-4632
AI, CAIDA, DFP
artificial intelligence
IC
Ian Cavers Associate Dean of Science & Senior Instructor
cavers@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 2178
604-822-4214
Paul Carter
Personal Page
Professor of Teaching & Associate Head of Operations
pcarter@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 391
604-822-4034
computer science education
Giuseppe Carenini
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor
carenini@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 105
604-822-5109
AI, CAIDA, DFP
artificial intelligence, natural language processing
William J. Bowman
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Assistant Professor
wilbowma@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 389
SPL
programming languages
Ivan Beschastnikh
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Associate Professor
bestchai@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 327
604-822-5628
SPL, NSS
systems, software engineering
Patrice Belleville
Personal Page
Senior Instructor
patrice@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 343
604-822-9870
computer science education
EB
Elisa Baniassad Senior Instructor
ebani@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS ICCS 329
604-822-6366
computer science education
Meghan Allen Senior Instructor
meghana@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 243
604-822-4912
computer science education
Donald Acton Senior Instructor
acton@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 231
604-822-1920
computer science education

Faculty Emeriti

Name Sort ascending Contact Information Research Groups and Research Interests
Bob Woodham
Personal Page
Professor Emeritus
woodham@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS
vision
SV
Son Vuong Associate Professor Emeritus
vuong@cs.ubc.ca
GT
George Tsiknis Professor Emeritus
tsiknis@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 307
604-822-2930
computer science education
Alan Mackworth
Personal Page
Google Scholar
Professor Emeritus
mack@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 121
604-822-4893
AI, CAIDA
artificial intelligence
David Lowe
Personal Page
Professor Emeritus
lowe@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS
vision
David Kirkpatrick Professor Emeritus
kirk@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS X461
(none)
Alg
computational geometry
Kellogg Booth
Personal Page
Professor Emeritus
ksbooth@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS X461
(none)
Imager, DFP
human-computer interaction
Uri Ascher
Personal Page
Professor Emeritus
ascher@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS X451
604-822-4907
SCL, AI

Lecturer

Name Sort ascending Contact Information Research Groups and Research Interests
JW
Jessica Wong
Personal Page
Lecturer
jhmwong@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS X441
GT
Geoffrey Tien Lecturer
gctien@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 245
604-822-4778
Jonatan Schroeder
Personal Page
Lecturer
jonatan@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 241
604-822-2563

Sessional Lecturer

Name Sort ascending Contact Information Research Groups and Research Interests
GV
Giovanni Viviani Sessional Lecturer
vivianig@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS
JJ
Jordon Johnson Sessional Lecturer
jordon@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS
Hazra Imran
Personal Page
Sessional Lecturer
hazra@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 249
FH
Faraz Hach Sessional Lecturer
fhach@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS
FG
Felix Grund Sessional Lecturer
fgrund@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS
Rik Blok Sessional Lecturer
rikblok@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 255

Adjunct Professor & Affiliates

Name Sort ascending Contact Information Research Groups and Research Interests
Andrew Warfield
Personal Page
Adjunct Professor
andy@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS X465
604-822-6642
NSS, CAIDA
CN
Cydney Nielsen Adjunct Professor
cydneyn@cs.ubc.ca
Gabriel Murray Affiliate Professor
gabrielm@cs.ubc.ca
Kevin Murphy
Personal Page
Adjunct Professor
murphyk@cs.ubc.ca
Off Campus
Holger H. Hoos
Personal Page
Affiliate Professor
hoos@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS
AI, CAIDA
WH
Wolfgang Heidrich
Personal Page
Affiliate Professor & Dolby Research Chair
heidrich@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS
SG
Simon Goring Adjunct Professor
gorings@cs.ubc.ca
CF
Charlotte Froese Fischer
Personal Page
Affiliate Professor
cff@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS
Thomas Fritz
Personal Page
Affiliate Professor
fritz@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS 335
Robert Bridson
Personal Page
Adjunct Professor
rbridson@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS X663
604-822-1993
CB
Celina Berg Affiliate Instructor
cgberg@cs.ubc.ca
ICCS/CS
computer science education
DA
Dhavide Aruliah Adjunct Professor
dhavide@cs.ubc.ca

Associate Member

Name Sort ascending Contact Information Research Groups and Research Interests
JR
Julia Rubin Associate Member - Electrical & Computer Engineering
mjrubin@cs.ubc.ca
AF
Alexandra Fedorova Associate Member - Electrical & Computer Engineering
sashafed@cs.ubc.ca
KD
Khanh Dao Duc Associate Member - Math
kdd@cs.ubc.ca
TC
Trevor Campbell Associate Member - Statistics
tdjc@cs.ubc.ca
IB
Inanc Birol Associate Member - Medical Genetics
ibirol@cs.ubc.ca
604-707-5900
MA
Muhammad Abdul-Mageed
Personal Page
Associate Member - Lingustics/iSchool
amuham01@cs.ubc.ca