Equity and diversity are essential to academic excellence. An open and diverse community fosters the inclusion of voices that have been underrepresented or discouraged. Building on a rich history of women in computer science, the Department of Computer Science has worked for decades to promote gender diversity. Today, roughly 33% of the department’s undergraduate population is female, while nearly 25% of its faculty, graduate students, and technical staff are women, making it an international academic leader in promoting the participation of women in computer science.

Former Department Head Maria Klawe Receives CACS/AIC Lifetime Achievement Award

Former UBC Computer Science Department Head Maria Klawe is the recipient of the 2015 Canadian Association of Computer Science/Association d’informatique Canadienne Lifetime Achievement Award.  The award recognizes exceptional academics who have made outstanding and sustained contributions to computing in Canada over their careers. 

Site Categories Women

CS Student Rebecca McKnight Receives Anita Borg Institute PIO Award

CS student Rebecca McKnight is the recipient of the 2014 Anita Borg Systers Pass-It-On (PIO) Award.  The $1000 US award, funded by donations from the Anita Borg Institute's Systers Online Community and others, are intended as means for women technologists to support women seeking their place in the fields of technology.

Site Categories Women

CS Student Caroline Lemieux Receives 2014 CRA Research Award

Computer Science student Caroline Lemieux receives the 2016 CRA Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award.  The award recognizes undergraduate students who show outstanding research potential.  Caroline was recognized with an honourable mention for her work in developing Texada, a tool for mining Linear Temporal Logic property types out of system logs. 

Site Categories Women

CS Department Head Anne Condon Discusses Her Passion for Computer Science

CS Department Head Anne Condon, who is the recipient of the 2014 ABIE Award, talked to TechRepublic about her passion for research in theoretical computer science, and the importance of providing better curricular and a supportive environment for women in computer science.

Site Categories Women

IEEE Transactions on Visualization and Computer Graphics Spotlight Paper

CS Professors Alla Sheffer and Holger Hoos' paper, "Filling Your Shelves: Synthesizing Diverse Style-Preserving Artifact Arrangements", is chosen as the Novermber 2014 spoltight paper by IEEE Transactions on Visualization and Computer Graphics.  See here for more details. 

Site Categories Research Women

CS Department Head Anne Condon Wins 2014 Grace Hopper Celebration Technical Leadership ABIE Award

Computer Science Department Head Anne Condon is the recipient of the 2014 Grace Hopper Celebration Technical Leadership ABIE Award. The award recognizes female computer scientists who "demonstrate leadership through their contributions to technology and achievements in increasing the impact of women on technology." Besides being the NSERC/GM Chair for Women in Science and Engineering from 2004-2009, Anne is also the recipient of numerous awards in recognition of her academic leadership and contribution to recruiting and supporting women in Computer Science.

Site Categories Labs Research Women

CS Professor Gail Murphy Receives 2014 UW CSE Alumni Achievement Award

UBC Faculty of Science Associate Dean and Computer Science Professor Gail Murphy is a recipient of the 2014 University of Washington Computer Science and Engineering Alumni Achievement Award.  

Site Categories Research Women

Susannah Kirby Receives 2014 Google Anita Borg Memorial Scholarship

Susannah Kirby, a student in the Bachelor of Computer Science (BCS) program, has been selected as a recipient of the Google Anita Borg Memorial Scholarship for 2014.  Susannah is one of five Canadian recipients who will receive a scholarship of $5,000 and is invited to attend the Scholars' Retreat at the Google Headquarters in Mountain View, CA. 

Site Categories Academic Women

UBC CS Alumna Shahrzad Rafati Named Top Tech CEO of the Year

UBC CS Alumna and CEO of BroadbandTV Shahrzad Rafati is named Executive of the Year by the judging committee of nextMEDIA Digi Awards.  The Award recognizes Canada's brightest innovators in the media sector and Rafati is the first female to win the Award. Rafati was also named one of Canada's Most Powerful Women by Women's Executive Network in the Sun Life Financial Arts and Communications category.

Site Categories Alumni Women

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia


ICICS/CS Building 201-2366 Main Mall
Vancouver, B.C. V6T 1Z4 Canada
Tel: 604-822-3061 | Fax: 604-822-5485
General: help@cs.ubc.ca
Undergrad program: undergrad-info@cs.ubc.ca
Graduate program: grad-info@cs.ubc.ca

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia