Imager Social

Wednesday, September 26, 2012 | 12:15pm - 2:00pm

Imager Social

Laura Selander 2-9882

Eight Papers from Imager Lab Accepted at SIGGRAPH 2012

Repeating on last year's success, UBC Imager Lab will be presenting eight technical papers at SIGGRAPH 2012:

Site Categories Labs Research Women

Kevin Leyton-Brown Selected as 2012 Peter Wall Institute Early Career Scholar

Kevin Leyton-Brown is one of ten faculty members selected to be the Peter Wall Institute Early Career Scholar.  Early Career Scholars are chosen from untenured Assistant or recently tenured Associate Professors who have highly promising records and who appreciate intellectual and interdisciplinary exchange with peers in other academic disciplines.

Audience Department
Site Categories Labs Research

Gregor Kiczales Awarded 2012 Dahl-Nygaard Senior Prize

Gregor Kiczales

Gregor Kiczales has been awarded the prestigious 2012 Dahl-Nygaard Senior Prize.  The prize is awarded annually to a senior researcher who has made significant long-term contribution to the field of Object Orientation.  Congratulations, Gregor!

Audience Department
Site Categories Labs Research

IEEE Haptic Symposium Happening in Vancouver

March 2012:       Imager faculty Karon MacLean co-chairs the IEEE Haptics Symposium in Vancouver, on March 4-8. Drop by to see 50 demos of int'l cutting-edge research targeting the sense of touch, and much more.

Conference website:

Audience Department
Site Categories Labs Research

Andrew Warfield Receives 2012 Sloan Research Fellowship

Andrew Warfield

Andrew Warfield is the recipient of the 2012 Sloan Research Fellowship, an award that recognizes outstanding early-career scientists and scholarships throughout North America.  118 researchers were recognized from 56 universities across Canada and the US.  Andrew is one of seven researchers from Canada, and one of two researchers at UBC who received the award. 

Talk - Patrick Colp

Wednesday, January 4, 2012 | 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Alla Sheffer and her team win 2011 Audi Production Award

Alla Sheffer, together with Sara McMains (Berkeley) and Sushrut Pavanaskar (Berkeley) won first prize in the 2011 International Audi Production Award competition. Eight finalist teams were invited to the finals workshop in Ingolstadt, Germany, November 16-17, where Pavanaskar presented the winning concept, A Novel Tool-Path Generation System for Energy Efficiency in CNC Machining.  More details here

Audience Faculty
Site Categories Labs Research

Resume Drop-In Editing Session

Monday, October 3, 2011 | 12:00pm - 2:00pm
X153 (Reboot area project room)

Gail Murphy Receives 2011 SIGSOFT Retrospective Impact Paper Award

Gail Murphy's 1995 paper, "Software reflexion models: bridging the gap between source and high-level models" has been selected to receive one of ACM SIGSOFT's Retrospective Impact Paper awards in 2011.   ACM SIGSOFT recognizes papers that have been particularly influential in software engineering research. Annually an award is made to a paper published a decade earlier, and in each of the first five years of the award, an additional committee is asked to select up to five papers published prior to 1998 for a special Retrospective Impact Award. 

Audience Faculty
Site Categories Labs Research

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia


ICICS/CS Building 201-2366 Main Mall
Vancouver, B.C. V6T 1Z4 Canada
Tel: 604-822-3061 | Fax: 604-822-5485
Undergrad program:
Graduate program:

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia