CS Alumnae Hasti Seifi Receives 2017 EuroHaptics Society PhD Thesis Award

UBC Computer Science alumnae Dr. Hasti Seifi is the winner of the 2017 EuroHaptics Society PhD Thesis Award for the best Ph.D. thesis in the field of haptics. The award honors research she conducted at UBC's Department of Computer Science, where she completed her doctorate under the supervision of Professor Karon E. MacLean. Only one person is selected for this award each year, and the winning thesis is chosen based on its scientific quality and expected impact on the field.  

Site Categories Alumni Labs Women

CS Undergraduate Student Tom Jin Wins 2nd Prize in MURC Poster Competition

Computer Science/Microbiology 4th year student Tom Jin won 2nd prize at the UBC Multidisciplinary Undergraduate Research Conference (MURC) poster competition.  MURC is an annual conference featuring faculty-supervised undergraduate research projects.  This year's 3-day conference showcased 233 presentations and 360 student presenters.  Tom's poster "Analysis of the Microbiome in Idiopathic Pulmonary Fibrosis (IPF)" examines whether lung tissue microbiome is associated with IPF, a progressive lung diseas

Site Categories Labs Research

CS Department Head Anne Condon Wins 2014 Grace Hopper Celebration Technical Leadership ABIE Award

Computer Science Department Head Anne Condon is the recipient of the 2014 Grace Hopper Celebration Technical Leadership ABIE Award. The award recognizes female computer scientists who "demonstrate leadership through their contributions to technology and achievements in increasing the impact of women on technology." Besides being the NSERC/GM Chair for Women in Science and Engineering from 2004-2009, Anne is also the recipient of numerous awards in recognition of her academic leadership and contribution to recruiting and supporting women in Computer Science.

Site Categories Labs Research Women

Professor Kevin Leyton-Brown Receives 2013 CACS/AIC Outstanding Young Computer Science Researcher Prize

UBC Computer Science Associate Professor Kevin Leyton-Brown is the recipient of a 2013 Canadian Association of Computer Science (CASC/AIC) Outstanding Young Computer Science Researcher Prize.  The award recognizes young computer science faculty members at Canadian universities within 10 years of their Ph.D who have made significant contributions in their research careers. Kevin was one of three eligible Canadian computer scientists who were selected for the prize. 

Site Categories Labs Research

Andrew Warfield Named Forty Under 40 by BIV

UBC Computer Science Assistant Professor and CTO/co-founder of Coho Data Andrew Warfield is named Forty Under 40 by Business in Vancouver Magazine.  Coho Data just received $25 million in additional funding and will be doubling the size of its engineering team over the next year.  Andrew is an Alfred P.

Site Categories Dept. Information Labs

Canada Research Chair Renewal (Tier 1) Awarded to Professor Dinesh Pai

Prof. Dinesh Pai has been awarded a renewal of his CRC Tier 1 Chair in Sensorimotor Computation. Tier 1 CRCs are awarded to ``outstanding researchers acknowledged by their peers as world leaders in their fields.'' This award brings in $1.4M over the next 7 years to the Department of Computer Science and UBC.
Congratulations Dinesh!

More information here

Site Categories Labs Research

Alan Mackworth Wins 2013 AIJ Classic Paper Award

Computer Science Professor Alan Mackworth wins the 2013 AIJ Classic Paper Award for his seminal paper Consistency in Networks of Relations.  The award recognises outstanding papers published at least 15 years ago in the AI Journal that are exceptional in their significance and impact.

Site Categories Labs Research


Tuesday, September 3, 2013 | 10:00am - 2:00pm

Event Name: Get a drink from our robot

Date: Sept. 3rd 2013 (Imagine Day)

Time: 10am – 2pm

Schedule of Events: Drop by any time between 10am – 2pm

Location: ICICS building, Room 146

Nando de Freitas, Ziyu Wang, Masrour Zoghi, Frank Hutter, David Matheson Win 2013 IJCAI Distinguished Paper Award

UBC Computer Science Professor Nando de Freitas, graduate students Ziyu Wang, Masrour Zoghi, David Matheson and Postdoc Frank Hutter receive the 2013 IJCAI Distinguished Paper Award for their work on 'Bayesian Optimization in High Dimensions via Random Embeddings'. 

Site Categories Labs Research

Wolfgang Heidrich Elected Fellow of Eurographics Association

UBC Computer Science Professor Wolfgang Heidrich is elected Fellow of the Eurographics Association for his significant contribution to the development of Computer Graphics and to the organization of the Eurographics Association. Please see here for more details.

Congratulations, Wolfgang!

Site Categories Labs Research

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia


ICICS/CS Building 201-2366 Main Mall
Vancouver, B.C. V6T 1Z4 Canada
Tel: 604-822-3061 | Fax: 604-822-5485
Undergrad program:
Graduate program:

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia