Dept. Information

Raymond Ng Co-Leads $7.2 Million Research Project on COPD

Genome BC Press Release

December 4, 2013

Two BC researchers have combined forces to develop  a blood test that will identify patients at high risk for Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD) lung attacks. This much needed test will help medical professionals provide better treatment and ultimately lead to patients with fewer attacks, and reduced hospitalization and emergency visits.

Site Categories Dept. Information Research

Alan Hu Receives 2013 IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation Outstanding Service Award

UBC Computer Science Professor Alan Hu is the recipient of the IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation (EDA) Outstanding Service Award for his exceptional commitment and service to the EDA community.  Alan played a leadership role in organizing the International Conference on Computer-Aided Design over the past several years.

Congratulations, Alan!

Site Categories Dept. Information

UBC Computer Science First Permanent Department Head John Peck Passed Away at Age 95

Professor Emeritus Peck, the first permanent  Department Head of UBC Computer Science Department, passed away on November 6, 2013.  Professor Peck was a pioneer in the field of Computer Science, arriving at UBC to serve as head of the newly-formed Department of Computer Science from 1969 to 1977.  He retired in 1984. 

Site Categories Dept. Information

Moyra Ditchfield Receives 2013 UBC President's Staff Award

CS Operations Manager Moyra Ditchfield

UBC Computer Science Director of Facilities Moyra Ditchfield is the recipient of the prestigious UBC President's Staff Award.  The award recognizes her leadership in the Computer Science Department and the wider UBC community, as well as her personal achievements and contributions to the vision and goals of the University. UBC has over 6,700 staff and only 10 President's Staff Awards are given out each year.

Site Categories Dept. Information Women

Anthony Winstanley Receives 2013 UBC Faculty of Science Achievement Award

The Faculty of Science Achievement Award for Service recognizes staff, students and faculty whose contributions in areas such as service, administration, leadership and outreach have had a significant positive impact in achieving the goals of the Faculty of Science. Anthony is recognized for his outstanding years of service of enhancing, managing and supporting the Computer Science undergraduate teaching facilities and his ability to develop innovative solutions to solve challenging technical problems.

Nicholas Vining discusses Technical Developments at Gaslamp Games

Imager graduate student Nicholas Vining who moonlights as CTO of Gaslamp Games discusses their latest development advances on this video

Audience Department

Anne Condon Elected 2013 CRA Board Member

CS Department Head Anne Condon is one of three newly elected members of the CRA Board of Directors.  The CRA Board of Directors is a distinguished group of leaders in computing research from academia and industry.  "The Board of Directors works to support CRA's mission to strengthen research and advanced education in computing and allied fields.

Michael Friedlander Receives 2012 CACS Outstanding Young Computer Science Research Prize

CS Associate Professor Michael Friedlander is the recipient of the 2012 Canadian Association of Computer Science (CACS) Outstanding Young Computer Science Researcher Prize.  The prize recognizes young Canadian computer science faculty members who have made significant contributions in research.  Of all eligible computer scientists in Canadian universities, Michael was one of only three who were selected.  Congratulations, Michael!

CS Recruiting Candidate Talk

Thursday, April 18, 2013 | 11:00am - 12:30pm

CS Recruiting Candidate Talk

Monday, March 25, 2013 | 12:00pm - 1:30pm
ICCS X836 CS Boardroom

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia


ICICS/CS Building 201-2366 Main Mall
Vancouver, B.C. V6T 1Z4 Canada
Tel: 604-822-3061 | Fax: 604-822-5485
Undergrad program:
Graduate program:

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia