Undergrads

Performance Tuning in Computer Systems with Structured Bayesian Optimisation and Reinforcement Learning - Eiko Yoneki (University of Cambridge)

Date: 
Monday, June 17, 2019 | 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Location: 
ICCSX836

Abstract:

Summer Camp

Date: 
Repeats every day until Mon Jul 15 2019 . Also includes Wed Jul 17 2019, Fri Jul 19 2019, Mon Jul 22 2019, Wed Jul 24 2019, Fri Jul 26 2019.
Monday, July 15, 2019 | 8:00am - 5:00pm
Date: 
Wednesday, July 17, 2019 | 8:00am - 5:00pm
Date: 
Friday, July 19, 2019 | 8:00am - 5:00pm
Date: 
Monday, July 22, 2019 | 8:00am - 5:00pm
Date: 
Wednesday, July 24, 2019 | 8:00am - 5:00pm
Date: 
Friday, July 26, 2019 | 8:00am - 5:00pm
Class/Lab: 

Recent Developments and Engineering Applications in Multi-Objective Optimization using Evolutionary Algorithms - Rituparna Datta, University of South Alabama

Date: 
Monday, May 27, 2019 | 11:00am - 12:30pm
Location: 
CS Boardroom ICCS X836

Abstract:

Robotics Workshop

Date: 
Repeats every day until Mon Jun 17 2019 . Also includes Tue Aug 06 2019, Wed Aug 07 2019.
Monday, June 17, 2019 | 10:30am - 2:30pm
Date: 
Tuesday, August 6, 2019 | 10:30am - 2:30pm
Date: 
Wednesday, August 7, 2019 | 10:30am - 2:30pm

Run by Emily Gubski, sponsored by Steve Wolfman

Class/Lab: 

Oliver Schulte and Guiliang Liu, Simon Fraser University: What i s the value of an action in ice hockey? Deep Reinforcement Learning for Co ntext-Aware Player Evaluation

Date: 
Monday, March 25, 2019 | 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Location: 
ICCSX836

Title: What is the value of an action in ice hockey? Deep Reinf
orcement Learning for Context-Aware Player Evaluation
 

Abstract:   
A fundamental goal of sports analytics is to rank player performance.  A c
ommon approach is to assign a value to each player action and rank a playe
r by his or her aggregate action value. For measuring the value of an acti
on, a recent AI-based approach, successful in a variety of team sports,estimates its expected impact on team success (e.g., the team’s chance o
f scoring the next goal).

Biomimetic robots as neuroscientific models and therapeutic tools -Tony Prescott, Director of Sheffield Robotics

Date: 
Wednesday, March 27, 2019 | 4:00pm - 5:30pm
Location: 
ICCSX836

Abstract

Canada’s Digital Technology Supercluster townhall, Dr. Gail Murphy , VP Research & Innovation

Date: 
Tuesday, February 19, 2019 | 11:30am - 1:00pm
Location: 
DMP110-Hugh Dempster Pavilion, 6245 Agronomy Road, UBC

The Office of the Vice-President Research & Innovation is hosti
ng a town hall information session where Dr. Gail Murphy, VP Research & I
nnovation will provide an update about Canada’s Digital Technology Supercl
uster.

 

Please join us in person at DMP 110 if you are able. Ifnot, the session will be recorded and posted online after the event.

 

A similar event is being held at UBC Okanagan campus on Februar
y 11.

Drugging the ‘Undruggable”. Computer-Aided Drug Discovery of Novel Cancer Drugs - Artem Cherkasov, Faculty of Medicine at UBC

Date: 
Tuesday, April 23, 2019 | 4:00pm - 5:30pm
Location: 
ICCSX836

Title: Drugging the ‘Undruggable”. Computer-Aided Drug Discovery of Novel Cancer Drugs.

Abstract: 

UBC Launch Pad & AGDA Present The Gaming Industry, An Insider's Pe rspective!

Date: 
Wednesday, February 13, 2019 | 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Location: 
ESB 2012

Come out and learn what it is like to work in the gaming indust
ry! East Side Games is a proudly independent game studio based in Vancouve
r. We'll have 2-4 East Side Gamers coming in to give a panel-style discuss
ion about their work and career, followed by a Q&A session where you can
get your gaming industry questions answered. There will be time for refres
hments and networking at the end.

UBC Launch Pad & AGDA Present The Gaming Industry, An Insider's Pe rspective!

Date: 
Wednesday, February 13, 2019 | 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Location: 
ESB 2012

Come out and learn what it is like to work in the gaming indust
ry! East Side Games is a proudly independent game studio based in Vancouve
r. We'll have 2-4 East Side Gamers coming in to give a panel-style discuss
ion about their work and career, followed by a Q&A session where you can
get your gaming industry questions answered. There will be time for refres
hments and networking at the end.

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia

 

ICICS/CS Building 201-2366 Main Mall
Vancouver, B.C. V6T 1Z4 Canada
Tel: 604-822-3061 | Fax: 604-822-5485
General: help@cs.ubc.ca
Undergrad program: undergrad-info@cs.ubc.ca
Graduate program: grad-info@cs.ubc.ca

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia